I created these illustrations as part of a personal project to share images of positive role models for women and girls alike. 

I selected a group of women that received the Nobel Peace Prize. Whether as a journalists, politicians or activists – these courageous women have raised their voices for a self-determined peaceful life for all. Scroll down to read their stories.

A scarf with this illustration is currently in production for my online shop.

If you are interested in pre-ordering, please write me at: shop@anabriceno.com

Narges Mohammadi is an Iranian human rights activist who was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2023 for her courageous efforts in advocating for women’s rights and fighting against the death penalty in Iran.

Arrests and Imprisonment
Mohammadi’s activism has come at a high personal cost. She has been arrested multiple times by the Iranian authorities. In 2016, she was sentenced to a lengthy prison term on charges that included “assembly and collusion against national security” and “propaganda against the state.” Despite being imprisoned, she continued to speak out against the human rights abuses in Iran.

Recognition and Impact
The Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Mohammadi in 2023 highlights her persistent and brave efforts to bring attention to the plight of women and political prisoners in Iran. Her recognition brings international attention to the ongoing struggle for human rights in Iran and underscores the vital role of activists in advocating for change even under severe repression.

Malala Yousafzai is a Pakistani activist for girls’ education and the youngest-ever Nobel Prize laureate. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014, at the age of 17, for her struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

Early Life and Rise to Prominence
Malala was born on July 12, 1997 in Pakistan. Her father was an educator and ran a girls’ school in their village. She first gained international attention in 2009 when she started writing a blog for the BBC Urdu under a pseudonym, detailing her life under Taliban occupation and their attempts to ban girls from attending school. Her advocacy for girls’ education made her a target for the Taliban.

Assassination Attempt and Recovery
On October 9, 2012, Malala was shot in the head by a Taliban gunman while riding a bus home from school. The attack was intended to silence her advocacy, but it had the opposite effect. Malala survived after being flown to the United Kingdom for intensive treatment and rehabilitation. The assassination attempt sparked a global outpouring of support and brought even greater attention to her cause.

Nobel Peace Prize and Continued Advocacy
In 2014, Malala was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize along with Kailash Satyarthi, an Indian child rights activist. The Nobel Committee recognized their struggles against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education. Malala’s award made her the youngest-ever Nobel laureate.

She co-founded the Malala Fund, an organization dedicated to ensuring 12 years of free, safe, and quality education for every girl. Malala has also authored a memoir, “I Am Malala,” which has been widely acclaimed and translated into numerous languages.

Malala graduated from the University of Oxford in 2020 with a degree in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (PPE). Her activism remains influential as she works on a global scale to empower girls through education.

Leyma Gbowee

Tawakkol Karman

Nadia Murad

Maria Ressa

Ellen Johnsoan Sirleaf